Chocolate Chia Protein Pudding and post-workout treats

I have been taking advantage of the TRX classes that fall either right before or right after my shift starts at work. I’ve always tried to get one or two in a week, but this week I went to one each weekday. It’s been great, I’ve been getting great workouts and it’s been great for helping with general life stress. It also means that I have to be a bit more mindful about meals. It can be very easy for me to get up, go to work before the sun is up, and just have my greens, coffee, and water until I get home. I do it more often than I would like, regardless of the importance of breakfast. I know, I know…I need to not do that. It just happens sometimes. I am very good about not allowing it to happen on days that I’ll be staying after my shift for a workout though.

A recent favorite breakfast that I can throw together quickly in the morning (can be made the night before, but easy enough that it doesn’t mess up my morning) is a chia pudding. I’ll pour half of a bottle of Rebbl Maca Mocha (reishi chocolate would be amazing too) into a small container with a lid, a scoop of chocolate protein powder, and 2-3 tbsp chia seeds, shake it up and go. By the time I get to work, get classes going, and get a moment, the chia seeds have plumped up nicely and it’s ready to be eaten. So delicious! Wednesday I added pomegranate seeds to top it off, today I added a tbsp of chunky peanut butter. It’s not the prettiest meal I’ve posted, but trust me, so delicious and great fuel for my workout.

chia pudding

After my workout, shower, and dog walk, I made a delicious smoothie made with 2 packs of Four Sigmatic cordyceps coffee (mixed with a bit of hot water then added to a little more cold water), a frozen banana, and a scoop of Vega Sport vanilla protein powder.

coffeesmoothie

I also had a Silk vanilla yogurt alternative mixed with almond butter and pomegranate seeds along side the smoothie. These two complemented each other nicely, it was a great post-workout meal.

yogurt

What’s your favorite grab-and-go healthy breakfast? Do you have a post-workout treat that gets you extra motivated towards the end of your workout, your little reward once it’s over? I’d love to hear about them!

Leave a Reply

