Vegan DIY deodorant and sunblock

I’ve been so absent! Life has been hectic and every time I start to write, it becomes another saved draft, but that will be remedied. Those drafts will get finished, and I will try not to let things get in the way so much anymore. I love being able to share vegan info and, hopefully, help people navigate and embrace a vegan lifestyle!

Recently, I’ve been enjoying DIY beauty products. I find something so relaxing and rewarding in making them. It started with my wonderful boyfriend’s distaste for using deodorant that has aluminum. While there are great brands on the market that are aluminum-free, the only one I frequently saw in stores had resulted in an allergic reaction. An allergic reaction in your armpit is a pretty annoying thing, so I steered clear. I had previously made a tiny batch of my own deodorant, and like it well enough, but it wasn’t anything I was thrilled about. After looking around at different recipes, I’ve finally got a recipe that I very much enjoy using! 

  • 1/4 cup unrefined coconut oil http://amzn.to/1lF0HfY
  • 1/2 cup baking soda
  • 1/3 cup arrowroot powder (can be swapped with cornstarch, I prefer arrowroot because it’s a bit more sensitive)
  • 3-5 drops Tea Tree Oil  (why? http://tinyurl.com/6o78q5q)
  • 2-3 drops Lavender Oil (because I think it smells lovely and it’s calming! Sometimes I also add a few drops vanilla)

Mix all ingredients together (I use a half pint mason jar). Enjoy! With the coconut oil it may harden, so you’ll have to mix well before use. My house tends to be pretty warm so this isn’t generally an issue for me. My dad diluted his a bit since his house stays chilly.

To apply I use a synthetic shaving brush: http://amzn.to/YhIVW2

After this was so wonderfully successful, I was excited to try new products. I’ve always enjoyed making bath salts, so that was something I played around with some more, and those recipes will be happening soon, but the thing that I was extremely excited about making was sunblock! As a vegan (aka, ingredient reader extraordinaire ^_^), I wasn’t really liking what I was seeing in most sunblocks, especially since a large portion of them I couldn’t even use. 

I found a recipe that I very much enjoy here: http://tinyurl.com/nc2v3jg 
In the instructions, when it tells you to have a pan of hot water and to put the ingredients in, be sure to just sit the mason jar in the water so that all the ingredients can melt together. 

I tested this out on a weekend that we would be poolside for a large portion of the time. I’m pretty fair-skinned and can burn quickly. It was a terrifying experiment, but it went so well! I’m a big fan and will be using this regularly. I very much enjoy having this recipe as it has helped me with wearing sunblock more frequently, which is SO important. I put some of the sunblock in a mini bottle for on the go: http://amzn.to/1pxiYqB And I also have a large batch at home: http://amzn.to/Wo8vHp

 

Leave a Reply

