Homemade Almond Milk and Gluten-free Biscuits & Gravy

I couldn’t decide what to make for breakfast,  but I wanted something filling and not too heavy. I thought a gluten-free version of a favorite would be perfect, so I made some biscuits and gravy.
For the biscuits I went with a recipe from the Babycakes cookbook ( http://amzn.to/1hXJdXU a great cookbook!)

Before I could do anything I had one little snag:
We ran out of almond milk, and I haven’t gotten to the store to pick more up, but I did have a bunch of slivered almonds! I started soaking them this morning for just about 30 min, drained them, added more water,  blended until smooth,  and added more water as needed to get the right consistency.
Once it was ready I was able to make the gravy.
1/4 cup spelt flour
1 tbsp nutritional yeast
2 cups almond milk
1 tsp onion powder
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp pink Himalayan salt
1 tsp freshly ground black pepper
1 tsp parsley

Combine flour and nutritional yeast in a small saucepan,  mix well. Add almond milk and stir until smooth. Add remaining spices, mix until combined add turn heat to medium. Mix until thickened. If yours thickens too much, easy fix: add 1 tbsp of water at a time until your gravy is the right delicious consistency. 

Add to biscuits (or to just about anything really!)

image

Spelt biscuits and gravy with homemade almond milk.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Almond Milk and Gluten-free Biscuits & Gravy”

    1. I love the gravy, went perfectly with biscuits and then later in the week I made it with green beans and grilled Daiya cheese sandwiches. So good!
      Mmm almond cheese! Sounds good!

Leave a Reply

